Home » Animation » Hour to Hour

Hour to Hour

Date: 2011
Posted by: Double G Productions
Cast: None
Credits: Double G Productions
Duration: 0.52

‘It is ten o’clock:
Thus we may see,’ quoth he, ‘how the world wags:
‘Tis but an hour ago since it was nine,
And after one hour more ’twill be eleven;
And so, from hour to hour, we ripe and ripe,
And then, from hour to hour, we rot and rot;
And thereby hangs a tale.’

Jacques’ words on time and mortality are the inspiration for this roughly executed clay animation, which takes the idea that we rot and rot literally with a comically horrific ending. Part of the joke is the nature of stop-animation itself, which speeds up and collapses time into whatever space it eants to, so that a young man may become a corpse in seconds.

The anonymous filmmaker has some pedigree in this field, since as GroeneG he was responsible for 2007’s Hamlet’s Egg, one of the first videos to be posted on BardBox. The animation technique has not moved on greatly in those five years, but the fondness for using Shakespeare as black humour remains.

Links:
Vimeo page

2 thoughts on “Hour to Hour

  1. Dear Luke,

    Thanks for the adding of Hour-to-hour to your Bardblog. Perhaps interesting to know more background?
    Although not visible for the viewer, the Hour-to-hour clip is technically much more complicated then my first Hamlet’s Egg clip. It uses a complete wire-frame puppet which made complex movement possible. Furthermore a more detailed lip syncing was accomplished by using more frames-per-second and mouth replacements. Also the morphing from young-to-old-skeleton was quit a complex operation. But al that said it is obvious that I can still improve very much and that as an amateur animator I’m still trying to improve.
    I’m know busy on a new project which doesn’t use any lip syncing but will uses expressions of the main character to tell a small story about hope, a shattered dream and final success :)
    Probably in the future I will revisit Shakespeare since I’m a big fan, although I ‘have no ideas yet of what play or monologue It will be the next time round.

    Cheers
    DoubleG Productions

    Gerard

  2. Hi Gerard- thanks for the extra information on films. I’m not greatly interestd in technical perfection (though it’s great when it there) – what I’m looking for is imaginative responses to Shakespeare through video. More background? Well, my name is Luke McKernan, I’m the curator for moving images at the British Library, and I have a long-standing interest in filmed Shakespeare. I’ve edited a couple of books on the subject, I have a particularly interest in silent Shakspeare films, and I oversaw the creation of the International Database of Shakespeare on Film, Television and Radio – http://bufvc.ac.uk/shakespeare.

    It was while producing this that I became interested in the videos not covered by our project i.e. the mostly amateur-produced videos which were starting to be produced on YouTube in ever-increasing numbers. BardBox is an attempt to curate some of the best and most interesting of these. In my view, Shakespeare with eggs is as valid as Shakespeare with Branagh. Keep up the good work!

Comments are closed.